Vitali & Nickerson

Sense of Place


European Landscape Photography

Thursday 14.06 - Sunday 16.09.2012

Centre for fine Arts
Rue Ravenstein 23
1000 Bruxelles


Sense of Place is the major exhibition of the new edition of the Summer of Photography. Landscape occupies a central position in the history of art in general and of photography in particular. How we see it today is affected by the ecological requirements of the post-industrial society. Concern for the future has led us to reconsider our individual relationships with the environment and to take a closer look at its place in our traditions and our history. Increasingly, we live less in the landscape than with it. Sense of Place looks at our relationship with the environment in the context of European photography. Presenting some 160 works by 40 photographers from every member country of the European Union, the exhibition demonstrates the diversity of the European landscape. Divided into three major geographical regions - northern, central, and Mediterranean Europe - the works show how the natural environment has helped to shape identities. The photographers show that Europe is not just a political zone, but also a place with personal meanings for every individual.


Participating artists:
Augusto Alves da Silva (Portugal), Per Bak Jensen (Denmark), Nigel Baldacchino (Malta), Bruno Baltzer (Luxemburg), Bart Michiels (Belgium), Elina Brotherus (Finland), Pedro Cabrita Reis (Portugal), Marianna Christofides (Cyprus), Celine Clanet (France), Gerardo Custance (Spain), Carl De Keyzer (Belgium), Gerco De Ruijter (The Netherlands), Gina Glover (Great Britain), Alexander Gronsky (Latvia), Andreas Gursky (Germany), Ilkka Halso (Finland), Anthony Haughey (Ireland), Yenny Huber (Austria), Gerry Johansson (Sweden), Flo Kasearu (Estonia), Peter Kostrun (Slovenia), Maros Krivy (Slovak Republic), Andreas Müller-Pohle (Germany), Arion Gabor Kudasz (Hungary), Irene Kung (Italy), Chrystel Lebas (France), Nikos Markou (Greece), Jackie Nickerson (Ireland), Vesselina Nikolaeva (Bulgaria), Nicos Philippou (Cyprus), Tudor Prisacariu (Romania), Arturas Raila (Lithuania), Szymon Roginski (Poland), Jem Southam (Great Britain), Theodoros Tempos (Greece), Massimo Vitali (Italy), Thomas Weinberger (Germany).